District Allahabad
Allahabad is located in the southern part of the state, at 2528′N 8150′E, and stands at the confluence of the Ganga (Ganges), and Yamuna rivers. The region was known in antiquity as the vats country. To its south west is the Bundelkhand region, to its east and south east is the Baghelkhand region, to its north and north east is the Awadh region and to its west is the (lower) doab of which it itself is a part.

Allahabad stands at a strategic point both geographically and culturally. An important part of the Ganga-Yamuna Doaba region, it is the last point of the Yamuna river and is the last frontier of the Indian west.


The name was given to the city by the Mughal Emperor Akbar in 1583. Its English rendering is Allahabad, implying a naming based on Allah ("the god" or "God"), God's Arabic reference in Islam. However this is not case as the city's actual name, and the way it is spoken and written in India, is Ilāhābād; ilāh being Arabic for "a god" (in this context from Din-i-Ilahi, the religion founded by Akbar), and "-ābād" is Persian for "prosperous place of".

The Indian GMT longitude that is associated with Jabalpur, also passes through Allahabad, which is 343 km north of Jabalpur on the same longitude.

Allahabad division consists of Allahabad, Kaushambi and Fatehpur districts.

Allahabad District consists of 7 Tehsils and 20 development blocks.

Parts of the western areas of Allahabad were carved out to create a new district named Kaushambi.


The Population figures of Allahabad District as per 2011 census are -

Total Population 5,959,798
        Males 3,133,479
        Females 2,826,319
        Total Literates 3,815,153
        Literate Males 2,291,418
        Literate Females 1,523,735
Development Blocks Tehsils
Kaurihaar Koraon
Kolagarh Soraon
Mau Aima Meja
Soran Handia
Baharia Phul pur
Phul pur Bara
Bahadur pur Sadar
Pratap pur Karchana
Dhanupr (Click on tehsil to get its population figures)
Shankar Garh